Living Foods Extra Virgin Coconut Oil – 100% Organic

23 Jul

Hands down, the best mask I have ever used!  Scoop up a dollop and rub it in you hands.  As it heats up, it turns into liquid oil.  Rub in to scalp, hair, ends.  Inhale the coconut beach smell.  Exhale.  And inhale again!

After I fried my hair,with an at home chemical straightener, this was a miracle cure for me.  (Don’t ever use one! Ever! I implore you! Changed my hair forever!)

Years later, I still apply this at least once a month, if not more.  I  like to massage it in, on a lazy day, and leave it in for hours.  I use a bow dryer, when I want to heat it up and have it sink in even more.  And since it is a dry oil, I can even sleep in it.  But I still find that to be a bit messy.   Either way,  wash it out thoroughly.  And voila!  Healthy fortified shimmering hair!

The only thing that comes close is Olive Oil.  But we’lll save that for another post.

Oh, and btw, you can also use it as a cooking oil.  Or drop a tablespoon or two in a smoothie.  It’s made from organically grown coconuts.  Very very good for you!

From the Living Foods website:

  • 100% Organic
  • Delicious Flavor
  • No GMOs
  • Vegetarian
  • USDA Organic
  • Certified Organic

Unlike refined coconut oils, Extra Virgin Coconut Oil is not hydrogenated, bleached, refined or deodorized. It is produced using the same methods farmers have used for centuries. Meat from only the freshest, organically grown coconuts is shredded and cold-pressed to create coconut milk, and then fermented to extract the oil.

Living Foods Extra Virgin Coconut Oil – 100% Organic – 32fl oz

Starting at $19.67

Available at:

www.iherb.com

7 Responses to “Living Foods Extra Virgin Coconut Oil – 100% Organic”

  1. jennyjenkk July 23, 2012 at 10:02 AM #

    I love this stuff too! I slather it all over my body and I use it it my jasmine rice, yummm;)))

  2. jennyjenkk July 23, 2012 at 10:03 AM #

    I love this stuff! I slather it all over my body and I use it in my jasmine rice, yummmm;))

  3. Peta-Anne July 23, 2012 at 2:26 PM #

    Coconut oil is great as a massage oil as well, if not a bit decadent 😉

    • Elena July 25, 2012 at 10:09 PM #

      Love it! Will definitely try it:)

      • Elena July 25, 2012 at 10:10 PM #

        And thank you for the suggestion!!

  4. Megan September 24, 2012 at 5:32 PM #

    Hey Elena!
    I’ve been using palm oil from Leonor Greyl to condition my hair for a few years. Do you know how coconut oil is different/better?
    I’ve found that after I use it, the first wash out leaves my hail a little dull and slightly coarse but the by second time I wash it, my hair is soft and silky and awesome.
    What are your thoughts? Stick with palm oil or make the transfer to coconut oil…does it matter?

    • Elena September 24, 2012 at 5:40 PM #

      Hi Megan!! I prefer the coconut oil! I find palm oil to be too heavy and thick for me. Coconut oil turns to liquid so quickly for an easier application! And it is so unbelievably nourishing! That’s my fave.
      xe

Thoughts...

