“How to GLOW from the inside out” by Emily Fletcher of Ziva Meditation

7 Sep

Think of the most beautiful person that you know.  Go on… picture her. What is it that you find beautiful about her?  While physical tastes may differ there are a few things that most of us find attractive across the board – confidence, joy and kindness. These things turn on your inner glow in a way that everyone around you will notice.

So how do we add more confidence, joy and kindness to our lives? Meditation. Yep, Meditation!  Why?  Meditation is a powerful stress relieving tool.  Stress will zap your inner glow and rob you of the experience of enjoying the RIGHT NOW.  Stress is making us sick, it is making us crazy and it is aging us at alarming rates.

One hundred bucks says that the beautiful person that you pictured earlier is NOT running around complaining, busy and stressed.

“But I don’t have time to meditate, I don’t want people to think I am a freak, I can’t stop my mind from thinking…”

Here is the good news.  No one can stop their mind from thinking, so take that pressure off yourself.  The only time the brain activity totally stops is when we are dead.  The time that you invest in meditation will pay of in dividends with what you are able to accomplish afterwards.  More people than you think are already doing it, loving it and getting their inner glow on.

How does meditation help you get your glow on?

Meditation is custom designed to dissolve stress.  We all know that a good night’s sleep is one of natures best beauty secrets.  What if you knew that meditation delivers rest that is 5 times deeper than sleep!  The body wants to thank you for that deep rest, and it thanks you by dissolving old stresses lodged in the nervous system.  Less stress in the nervous system allows you to be more present in the right now which is the only place that happiness actually resides.

Meditation also reverses body age by up to 8 YEARS! Sounds crazy right? But here is the thing.  Stress ages us in an expeditious fashion.  If you want proof of that, look at a picture of any president when they take office and a picture of them one year after being in office.  All of them seem to age ten years in just one.

If you want to practice right now here is a simple exercise you can try.  Let us know how it goes for you.

1. Find and comfy chair and close your eyes

2. Take 30 seconds of just chilling

3. Gently start thinking the word “one” silently to yourself

4. Repeat for 5 min (feel free to check your watch, don’t    set an alarm)

5. Know that thoughts will come, that is ok.  Keep coming back “one”.

Just five minutes a day of quiet time can do wonders in an age of ever increasing demands and distractions.  Take charge of your inner glow and try it now!

 

Want to learn more? Check out www.zivameditation.com to attend a free 1 hr Intro to Meditation.

Ziva Meditation was founded by Emily Fletcher who began her extensive training in Vedic meditation in Rishikesh, India under world-renowned meditation instructors, Thom Knoles and Will Dalton. Emily was inspired to become a meditation instructor after experiencing the profound physical and mental benefits it provided her during her 10-year career on Broadway, which included roles in Chicago, The Producers, AChorusLine and many others.

With a unique combination of training in Western psychology (7 years of study under Thomas Jones, founder of The Paradox Process) and 4 years of meditation training Emily is perfectly suited to teach busy people how to incorporate this simple and hugely effective practice into their lives.

5 Responses to ““How to GLOW from the inside out” by Emily Fletcher of Ziva Meditation”

  1. Peta-Anne September 7, 2012 at 2:22 PM #

    I am relatively new to regular and consistent meditation. It was recommended to me to help me with grieving. Since I have been finding and taking the time to meditate I have noticed, as have others, that I am calmer and have re-engaged my sense of self. I have some peace.

    My mind is constantly busy at the best of times. If unnecessary thoughts pop into my mind I visualise just blowing them away, like a grey cloud.

    Meditation has become an important part of my daily life.

    • emilystella13 September 8, 2012 at 12:56 PM #

      Way to go for it. Especially in a transitional time like loosing a loved one. Keep reminding yourself that thoughts are not the enemy during meditation, just gently come back to whatever tool you use, or try the one mentioned above. Enjoy!

    • Jaclyn September 18, 2012 at 1:14 PM #

      So powerful! We’re happy to hear the positive effects of meditation have become such a helpful tool for you in many ways. I too also find that when I take the time to still myself and breath is does wonders for calming my mind and makes me less reactive in day to day life. Thank you for sharing with us!

  2. Tina Something September 10, 2012 at 2:41 PM #

    I like the advice about thinking just one word (like “one”) to yourself. Many people tell me that they can’t meditate because they can’t empty their minds, so they don’t even give it a try. I find that having a sort of mantra, be it one word or a sentence, can help immensely.

    I’m by no means someone who meditates regularly, but I’ve tried both guided and silent meditation and enjoyed it a lot. This was a nice reminder that I should consciously set aside a few minutes each day for just myself. It could be a new before-bed-routine. 🙂

    A lovely and informative post, thank you!

  3. digestive disorders symptoms October 7, 2014 at 11:05 AM #

    Hello! Do you know if they make any plugins to assist with Search Engine Optimization? I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good gains.
    If you know of any please share. Thank you!

Thoughts...

