A More Natural & Still Effective Mascara: CoverGirl NatureLuxe Water Resistant Mousse Mascara

20 Dec

Screen shot 2012-12-20 at 11.57.35 AM

I was drawn to this mascara when I noticed a subtle light green tube amongst the many brightly colored CoverGirl Lash Blast mascaras on the shelf. Hmmm, why the change of packaging and branding, what was in this CoverGirl NatureLuxe Mousse Mascara?

Well, what makes this product a little different is that although NatureLuxe Mousse Mascara is not an all-natural product, CoverGirl has swapped out a heavy synthetic ingredient commonly found in mascara which gives the product lightness. By incorporating naturally-derived ingredients like beeswax, tapioca polymers, and carnauba wax— the hope is to deliver a more luxurious product that performs just as well more costly products, but with a “luxury touched by nature” feel. I wouldn’t go so far to say it performs as well as other mascara’s in terms of volume and drama. BUT, it does create a nice clump-less effect that feels light and is great for daily day time use. It’s not as water resistant as other more synthetic water resistant mascara’s either but again a great balance for a more natural look that doesn’t smudge or flake!

Screen shot 2012-12-20 at 12.03.19 PM

I would say for what it is, this mascara is brilliant! I feel like my lashes can breathe a little easier and I prefer a softer look for day time use. It’s easy to apply and with 2-3 coats gives me just enough drama and yet natural-looking clean volume. The wand is fantastic, not stiff hard but not floppy either. And, the shape of the brush and bristles were so that I could reach all lashes, including bottom ones, easily. If you are looking for high volume this probably isn’t the product for you. In other words if you’re looking for result akin to Taylor Swifts ad for the product which was banned, good luck. The ad was banned for excessive photoshop enhancement. But, if you want light and luxurious lashes that have volume without being vampy, give this a try! Your lashes will thank you.

CoverGirl NatureLuxe Mousse Mascara $7.99

Available in regular and water resistance formulas. Four shades – Very Black, Black, Black Brown, and Brown.

One Response to “A More Natural & Still Effective Mascara: CoverGirl NatureLuxe Water Resistant Mousse Mascara”

  1. Tina Something December 27, 2012 at 2:18 PM #

    This looks very interesting to me.
    I’ve been working crazy hours lately, spending most of those sitting in front of a computer screen, and just found that my usual mascara started to annoy me after a while. I developed a bad habit of rubbing my eyes with my hands and thus smudged the mascara in the process. But it also started to feel too heavy to me, so lately I didn’t bother with it every day anymore (fortunately I have naturally black lashes).

    I’ve consciously tried to keep my fingers from my eyes, took micro breaks away from the screen and everything, but this lighter CoverGirl formula sounds very appealing.
    Now I’ll just have to find out how much it’ll cost me to have it shipped from the U.S. 😉

    Thanks for bringing it to my attention!

Thoughts...

