Sweet Tarte by Celebrity Stylist and Writer, Michelle Brookhurst

21 Dec

tarte+lipsurgence

When my mother was diagnosed with breast cancer, we went into a research frenzy; culling articles about hormones in poultry, aluminum in deodorants, and parabens in cosmetics. In the decade since her diagnosis, we have made a lot of environmental and nutritional changes. I checked out options for paraben free cosmetics, and after a life of cheery bright happy lipsticks, and colorful packaging filled with promises and allure, I found the “natural” options to be a bit blah, and rather depressing. Well, natural is nice, but I think make-up should be about fantasy and fun, drama, seduction, getting to play the red-lipped femme fatale, or the apple cheeked girl next door. I am well aware of the harsh role chemicals and toxins play in our current state of health, but I don’t want to lose my five minutes of fun in the morning, where I get to “put on my face”. I enjoy being in touch with my feminine girly side, reminding myself I can be sexy and sweet, before I walk out my front door to go kick some butt.

tarte-cheek-stain

I found the perfect solution in Tarte Cosmetics. All their packaging is super flirty and fun, it is a pick me up to look at, the colors are fantastic, and that’s before I even put it on! All Tarte products are free of parabens, phthalates, sulfates and synthetic fragrances, and I also appreciate that they don’t spend money on advertising, they spend it on research. The company is eco-friendly, and I highly suggest reading about the values of both the company and the cosmetics- you will be amazed at the amount of research and care that goes into every product; even the cheek stain, which is a water based gel blush, is packed with vitamins for your skin. There are some natural beauty lines that are all about health, but do absolutely nothing for either your face or sense of fun- Tarte delivers the true “whole package.” I have never been asked by so many make-up artists about my mascara, had friends borrowing my lipstick, or given away so many tubes of the tinted moisturizer.

Tarte-Lights-Camera-Lashes

Tarte Cosmetics was created by someone who loves make-up, and you can tell. Everyone I have turned on to the Lights Camera Lashes mascara has never gone back to the itchy, overly fragranced mascaras of other companies, and it even comes in a purple snakeskin tube! That’s my kind of “natural.” There is never a new product I don’t like, and every color is flattering. I swear by their cheek stain, all the Lipsurgence lip pencil/gloss sticks (i don’t even know what to call them except tubes of perfect textured heaven), and my biggest secret weapon is the Smooth Operator waterproof concealer, which easily outperforms Touche Eclat..

Smooth-Op-Clay-Concealer-ALL-mdn-70191227I don’t know if it’s the Amazonian clay, or the Marajuca oil that is used to create such perfect textures, but the foundations are never cakey, all pencils glide on smooth, and the cheek stains are so user friendy. This is what I was looking for in a “natural” beauty line: fun packaging, great results, and 5 minutes in the morning where I get to feel good about what I put on my skin, and beautiful when I look in the mirror. (And with this sale, my wallet is looking good too!)

Available from:

Tarte

Sephora

 

Michelle Brookhurst

Michelle Brookhurst is a former teen actress (Can’t Hardly Wait, Charmed, Foxfire), turned celebrity stylist (clients include George Lopez and Baron Davis) turned writer. She has written a television series based on her life called “Certain Something”, and is currently based in Los Angeles.

Thoughts...

